Shampoo bars

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Binky

Reaction score
I've been buying shampoo bars and I love them but I want to add some ayurvedic stuff in the soap and since I live in Canada it's impossible to get the one I really want that already has henna and hibiscus so I thought I would try my hand at making one.

Since it's frigid cold here I can't open windows so I don't want to deal with lye in my poorly ventilated house I was wondering if I could use a melt and pour soap to make shampoo bars.

Please keep in mind I'm a total beginner and know very little about this stuff so please use easy to understand terms.

You can buy melt and pour shampoo base from brambleberry.com but I'm not sure if they ship to Canada.

You can buy melt and pour shampoo base from brambleberry.com but I'm not sure if they ship to Canada.
I know where to buy it here in Canada but I need to know if it would work well and if it would, how do I go about doing it?

You can buy rebatch [hand-milled] base and use it. I've done this before as it's the most like those shampoo bars you buy.

Ok, but do I need to add more than the herbs I wish to put in it? I've seen dozens of recipes that call for coconut oil plus a dozen other things.

I'm pretty much clueless about this process.

Thanks though.

Hi Binky, I've been experimenting MP shampoo bar lately(added a variety of additives) and I am very pleased with the result. I've bought WSP's three different types of MP bases and I like all three of them but my favorite was the DF coconut milk MP base.

1. Shave & Shampoo
2. Detergent Free Coconut Milk
3. Detergent Free Butter Milk

Please also check out old threads on MP shampoo bar:

http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=44779

http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=28649