Legit recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Felgie

Reaction score
Hi i am new in soap making and found a recipe

Castor Oil - 90 gr. | 3.18 oz. | 10%

Coconut Oil - 630 gr. | 22.22 oz. | 70%

Olive Oil - 180 gr. | 6.35 oz. | 20%

Distilled Water - 324 gr. | 11.43 oz.

Lye - 128.67 gr. | 4.5 oz.

I heard a high amount of CO may make the soap dry so to counter that effect we should be applying 15% superfat. However, the higher the superfat increase the chance of dos and soda ash.
So i was just wondering, is this recipe legit or is there a tricks to prevent the problem??

Thank you for your guidance!!

Hi i am new in soap making and found a recipe

Castor Oil - 90 gr. | 3.18 oz. | 10%

Coconut Oil - 630 gr. | 22.22 oz. | 70%

Olive Oil - 180 gr. | 6.35 oz. | 20%

Distilled Water - 324 gr. | 11.43 oz.

Lye - 128.67 gr. | 4.5 oz.

I heard a high amount of CO may make the soap dry so to counter that effect we should be applying 15% superfat. However, the higher the superfat increase the chance of dos and soda ash.
So i was just wondering, is this recipe legit or is there a tricks to prevent the problem??

Thank you for your guidance!!

Totally depends on what kind of soap you are making. That much coconut oil would likely strip the hide of most people. That much Castor could possibly make the soap sticky. I never go above 7% and generally just stay at 5%. I don't think you would find this such a good soap at all though you can certainly try it.

If you haven't made soap as yet, I would recommend making something more well rounded. 60% Palm/Lard, 20% CO, 15% Olive/Avocado and 5% Castor. 5-6% SF

What are you looking for in a soap?

Welcome to the forum!