laundry soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

txsoaper

Reaction score
I want to try making my own laundry detergent. I have seen several recipes where you grate a bar of home made soap and add it to a variety of ingredients. My question is, could I make a liquid laundry soap using a small amount of castile soap? I would like to use the castile soap, borax, washing soda, baking soda and a mixture of essential oils such as tea tree and maybe lemon. I saw a recipe that also called for grapeseed extract. DOes this concoction sound logical? I have never done this before, so could anyone offer advise as to what % I should use of each thing? Thanks you so very much for any help you can provide.

http://www.thefamilyhomestead.com/laundrysoap.htm

Easy directions for making a liquid gel from soap, washing soda, and borax. It's what I use, although I stopped messing with the gel and just "pulverize" it in a food processor and use it as powder. If you have hard or soft water, you can play around with the amount of borax, etc., to get the results you want. I use my own soap made at a super-low superfat. You don't want excess oils in your laundry.

FYI-If you do pulverize it in a food processor, throw a damp dish towel over the whole thing while it's running to trap the dust. And wear a mask.

Also, I recommend using plain white vinegar as a fabric softener if you use laundry soap. There won't be any vinegar smell in your laundry.