New here :) soy candle questions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

melolicious

Reaction score
Hi there
I am from Australia and I am new to candle making. I am using a soy wax at the moment..

I am having a few issues with getting a good hot throw... cold throw is good

I am heating wax to 75' c and adding oil at 65'c allowing to cool and then pouring at 40ç.

I have ordered FO from "the scent works"3 weeks ago and I am still waiting on them. they have ignored all my attempts at contacting them. $520 worth I might add :(
any tips would be much appreciated.

Also what do you find better
CDN or HTP wicks? thanks
Mel xx

Make sure you are pouring at supplier's recommend temps., use the correct size wick and fragrance oils made especially for soy wax.

Hi melolicious

Gosh that's a lot of money to spend on FOs if you're not getting the results you'd like. What % are you adding? Try 9%??. I haven't used htp or cdn wicks but I hear CDN wicks work well.

You might want to try adding the FO at 80c instead as at that higher temperature the wax is more fluid (so more reactive) and so more likely to bind properly with the FO.

You also need to stir continually for 3 whole minutes to help the binding process. (Yes 3 mins is a pain but it does make a difference). Also stir just before pour too so the FO doesn't sink to the bottom.

Is your soy wax called "advanced"?? If so, advanced is known to be hit and miss with FOs. You might find CB135 better for hot throw.

Oh, and soy needs between 5-10 days cure time - so try and wait as long as you can before you do your test burn.

Last edited:
My FO Oils from USA finally arrived.. they are beautiful but I cant say I am
over the moon and will re order.. they just took toooooo long

Thank you for your replies.. I have started adding at a higher temp and the oil is blending much better.