NEWBIE Candle Maker Questions - Please Help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lauren-bethany

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to candle making and there are a few unanswered questions I have! Some may sound stupid to those of you who are experienced, however please remember I am a newbie but am highly interested in getting started!!

1) Is it possible to add too much scent to a candle? If so.. (apart from smelling too strong) what could happen?

2) Why do you have to add scent/colour to the wax and pour into the containers at certain/different temperatures?

3) What does 'flashpoint' mean and what happens at this 'point' ?

4) Apart from the wax, scent, and colour is there anything else you should add to the mixture for container candles?

I would highly appreciate any information anyone is able to provide! Thanks everyone :)

1. yes if you add too much fragrance it can end up pooling on the top of your finished dry candle. Go to the website (or look in the paperwork or even in some cases on the bottle) of the fragrance oil company to see how many ounces they recommend per ounces of wax. It will depend on the kind of wax and oil. If essential oil you use less (e.g. half an ounce per pound/16 ounces of wax - though paraffin wax doesn't take so well to most essential oils unless combined with a fragrance oil. Soy and beeswax I think take essential oils better.