New mold tryout

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kittish

Enthusiastic Newbie
Reaction score
flames1-1627.jpg

500g batch, in a 6" square slab mold. 700 or 750g batch would probably fill it up to the top. Not sure if I'm going to cut this soap into 6 2"x3" or 4 3"x3" bars.

I am still learning patience. I really should have let the soap sit in the mold another day like I intended to. Edges are still pretty soft, but I think it'll be ok.

So... does this remind anyone else of a bio-hazard symbol?

flames2-1631.jpg

The wrinkles you see are the plastic wrap I have over the soap, the actual soap surface is beautifully smooth. Didn't even dent the bottom getting it out of the mold.

So... something happened with this soap. The top is covered with a network of fine, shallow cracks and it's waxy/crumbly. It is not lye heavy. I tested every face of every bar several times, as well as testing bits that I trimmed off the bars. (Crumbly soap seems to come about most commonly because of separation/excess lye from what I've seen and read.) The crumbly part is all across the top and partway down what were the outside edges in the mold. I sprayed the top with isopropyl alcohol and covered with plastic wrap (not touching the soap) for 24 hours. The cracks were all visible already when I unmolded the soap, and have not changed in appearance since. Soaped fairly cool- around 110*F. I did not insulate. Recipe is after pics (ignore the white bits on the one soap- they're soap crumbs that are stuck on).

Here are pics of some of the bars:

flames3-1636.jpg

flames4-1637.jpg

flames5-1638.jpg

You can see especially on this one the very subtle color change between the crumbly layer and not crumbly soap, along the top edge.

Soap recipe:

Lye concentration 40%
Distilled water 103g
NaOH 68g

Coconut oil 25% 126g
Olive oil 40% 175g
-plus 25g in colorants