non coconut oil recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

james

Reaction score
hello,

I've been making soap for a few years now using the same basic recipe (off the top of my head I think its 50% olive oil, 30% canola oil & 20% coconut oil). This makes a simple everyday soap- nothing special, just good basic all purpose bathroom soap.

My local supplier of coconut oil has stopped selling it, and I've had no luck finding another source. If I can, I'd rather not buy over the internet (however if needs be, then I will...)

Are there any alternative recipes that use readily available ingredients excluding coconut oil?

I'm in the UK.

that was an option that I'd considered. Possibly use good EV olive oil, making a pale green soap which I can lightly scent.

I'd also considered using hard vegetable oil (palm oil) and/ or lard. Any advice regarding the usage of these ingredients? The recipes I've seen for these ingredients all include coconut oil.

(edit: I stopped off in Newcastle, NSW a few years ago...bought groceries in Woolworths)

Palm kernel oil and babassu are both similar to coconut oil in their soaping properties, tho here they are generally more expensive.

Hope that helps.

Lard is great, but I still like it best in combination with coconut oil. But 100% lard can be very nice indeed - still not the bubblage of CO tho. I've not made 100% palm so I can't speak to that.

Don't have the patience for Castile.

so I could perhaps use a blend of lard (or palm oil) and liquid fat (sunflower. canola or olive), run this through the saponification calcs and get reasonable product?

Yes I think that would work.
I have soaped with lard and palm oil, in my experience they both make nice hard soaps. I always use them with coconut oil though, it might be worth seeing if you can follow up with another supplier.
I think the pale green evoo soap sounds great!