Hello from Southern Illinois

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ucmj22

Reaction score
Hello, I just made my first batch this weekend (HP) and figured I should get in to a community of experts to help me when I melt the skin off of my hands. I skipped over CP because I'm impatient, and didnt want to wait 2 months before using my soap :).
I think my first batch went pretty good, I used Lavender EO and chopped up some lavender leaves I dried from my garden for an added visual element. I think I added a half an Oz. too much coconut oil because my bars are a little soft, but other than that I am pretty happy. I look forward to learning a lot here, and maybe being able to help others. I am a Graphic designer by trade, and will be making my own labels and such, so if anyone would like help on that front, dont hesitate to ask.

Patrick

Hi Patrick,

Welcome! Congratulations on your first batch! :D

There really isn't a cure time difference between CP and HP. HP also benefits from several weeks curing because the excess water evaporates to make a harder bar and the soap becomes milder. Also, coconut oil helps with hardness so if you added too much it wouldn't be soft but it might be a little drying. I recommend reading David Fisher's Qualities of Soap Making Oils to help you with the oil properties.

Thanks for the tip. I read "Everything Soap Making Book" by Alicia Grosso before I took the dive, I know I need to read it again though. Any other must reads I should know about?

Hazel said:
Hi Patrick,

Welcome! Congratulations on your first batch! :D