Newbie here! I think I might have a problem...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Extreme_Soaping

Reaction score
Hello good people from the soap making forum!

A couple of weeks ago I decided I would explore the magnificent world of soap making. I like making my own stuff.

I've read almost everything about soap making, everywhere, and seen countless videos on the internet.

So I thought I was ready.

Until now, I've made only 2 batches, and they were nearly identical. I decided to start with the basics: 35% CO and 65% Olive Oil, through the soap calc, etc.
The second one I went wild on the changes and used 40% - 60% (heh I like to play safe).
I'm not using essencial oils yet. I've ordered some online and it still hasn't arrived, so I'm using some knock-off essence oils I ws ableto buy around here.

Anyway...

First problem: On both batches it took FOREVER to trace. I had to stir the **** thing for at least 40 minutes. With a stick blender.
I've seen SO MANY videos of people reaching trace in 2 minutes, that's just ridiculous.
It starts beautiful, and suddenly it starts do get separated and horrendous. It's very weird. Maybe I should be more gentle? I know you should not continuously use the blender, that you should take it easy and slow, but... I just don't know.

Well
The first one got a BEAUTIFUL trace, I almost cried, all of the sudden, after 40 minutes of pure suffering and frustration, BAM, beautiful trace. I honestly don't get it. heheh

the first one, 24 hours later, unmolded:

2RDYfqk.jpg

Look at it. What a beauty.

THEN I decided to cut it.

bheimX6.jpg

DISPAIR!
argh. so grainy and soft and oily... but i cutted the whole thing anyway... didn't look good.

Fy1ELZH.jpg

Not cool.

The second one:

cGioqO3.jpg