How many different recipes do you use on average?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wolf05374

Reaction score
I am wondering how many different recipes do you use on average? I am fairly new to HP and wondering if it's silly to think you can find a great go to base recipe that you can just change the scent, additives like silk fibers or replacing some water with milk, clays, exfoliants, yogurt and so on but having the soap base recipe the same - is that common? Or do you prefer the different qualities of different recipes?
Thanks for the input!!

Well...winter soap, summer soap, pot-scrubber soap, Castile, "I have a lot of lard" soap, and so on.

I'd say that, for the most part, I have four recipes I use a lot, and three or four more that are pulled out occasionally and modified by what I have on-hand or by what's about to go bad.

If you absolutely required me to do so, I could get it down to 3 recipes: winter, summer, and pot-scrubber. They're really very different.

If you threatened me, I could get it to two--my summer soap can do the job of the pot-scrubber, if not as well.

If you paid me...I'm not sure I could manage one. I really do prefer a gentler soap in winter.

I'm still fairly new to making soap, so I use different recipes almost every time, though there are I think three so far that I've made more than once. As far as how they leave my skin feeling, so far I'm not noticing a whole lot of difference between the recipes I have used, but then it may well be that I just don't have particularly sensitive skin. My repeats have been based on feedback I've gotten from friends and family that I've given soap to. Eventually I may wind up with two or three base recipes, plus specialty soaps like laundry and shaving soap.

I have:
two recipes for CP "shower" soap
salt bar
shaving
laundry
castile