Where Does Everybody Purchase Their Lye From?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smauf

Reaction score
Do you guys buy from department stores? Brick and mortar soap making supply stores? Do you order online? If so where? Are you able to obtain wholesale prices? Do you make your own lye from wood ashes?

I am just curious, as I am completely new to soap making, and only have one batch under my belt. I purchased my lye from Bramble Berry, and saw a note on there that they had recently changed their lye from 100% pellet form, to 97% flaked form.

What is your favorite place to purchase lye from, and why? :)

Essential Depot online, because the price. I also like the easy to handle 2lb bottles the Lye comes in.

Essential Depot. Same as Lin. The price and the easily handled bottles.

You really would do better to not have a very large container of lye as a beginner(or even not so much a beginner), because if handled improperly, the lye can absorb moisture from the air. And if it does that, the weights will be off. I don't make soap so often as some, so I even put my air tight bottle into a Ziploc bag because I live in a humid climate.

The first NaOH I bought to make soap came from Lowe's. It worked fine, but it is MUCH more expensive than ordering from Essential Depot. I always bought KOH from ED.

Last edited:
Another vote for Essential Depot. I bought the Brambleberry lye once, but I don't like the flakes. The pellets are much easier to use, for me.

I bought 900 grams (no idea why it was in a 900 gram container, not a full 1 kilo!) and it lasted me a fair few batches. It was flakes, which was annoying. I found myself a new main supplier for (almost) all things soapy, so will what that is like.

I make soap for my family and a few friends so don't need much. I buy my lye from tractor supply.