Measurements for Bath Bombs

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

msyoung

Reaction score
Hi Friends,

I am new to Bath Bomb making, I would like to apologize if this sounds dumb, please help, I searched the net for this but could not figure it out.

I want to make a small batch of Bath Bomb for starters
1 cup Baking Soda
1/2 Cup Citric Acid
I want to use Epsom Salt, Kaolin Clay, Oil, Fragrance, SLSA, Polysorbate, Oil, FO, & RA
my struggle is a measurement of these mentioned ingredients, how do I work out my measurements?

Can anyone guide me please: cry: .. Then I will work it out. :)

Thanks

I'm sorry I can't be of more specific help but WSP (Wholesale Supplies Plus) has a recipe; Rustic Escentuals does too, I believe.

General rules: (but I don't make a ton of bath bombs, so take these with a grain of salt)

- polysorbate - generally used 1:1 with the oils on the recipe. This is both fragrance oil and the oils for binding

- oils - measure by the tsp until you get the consistency you want. The mix should be similar to wet sand or those kinetic sand toys.

- slsa - follow the reccomended useage. I don't use this and don't know the useage rates bu it should be around 10-20%

- clays, Epsom, salts, other additives - start with the tsp or tbsp and use trial/error to find what you like

Nearly every supplier has a recipe for a basic bath bomb. Finding a recipe from your supplier is probably the easiest way to go but it's just as fun to play with the rules and find your personal favorites.

As a general rule, mix the dry ingredients then add the wet. You can always make the mix wetter but you can't really dry it out easily if you make soup