EO's versus Absolutes

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trish

Reaction score
Has anyone out there got any info on using absolutes instead of EO's, i've been rebatching for a while now and i find that most of the EO's have low flash points, therefore not a very strong scent in the finished product. I did some checking and found that the absolutes have a much higher flash point. I know you have to use alot less and they cost alot more but i don't know the ratio of absolutes versus EO's per pound of soap, can anyone help? Thanks Trish

I have no experience with using them... and due to their prohibitive cost i dont really advocate experimenting with them too heavily unless you have money to burn...

i think absolutes are something like 10X's stronger than EO's (could be very wrong...) so it would make sense to use 1/10th the amount of absolute per amount of EO...get my drift?

I did some searching on google and had no help at all from any of the links...will keep searching and keep ya posted if i find anything!

Not sure if it is too late to answer this...

From what I've gathered, the difference between an EO and an absolute is that the absolute is solvent extracted. (As opposed to steam distilled as most EOs are, or CO2 extracted.) I should probably mention that some of these solvents are pretty nasty stuff, and there are typically teeny amounts left over in the absolute. It is done with no heat, and is supposed to be the full "essence" of the plant. (that could be BS though!) This process is used with more delicate things, like rose and lotus petals.I would assume the smell is more accurate because no heat is used in the extraction process, and heat can alter smell.