Bath bomb disasters

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FrancyPants

Reaction score
I recently started playing with a bath bomb press and for some reason my bath bombs have warts on them. They are smooth at first. But within a few minutes warts appear.
I have purchased a dehumidifier and the humidity level is between 35-40%.
I have tried less witch hazel, I let it "rest" before pressing. I don't know what to do. So frustrating.
And if it isn't that, they just won't stay together at all. Breaking in half before they even come out of the press.
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_4490.jpg

Too much liquid (witch hazel or other) will cause warting. Are you using any oils/butters? That's what I use and it keeps them together fine. Sometimes I spritz with alcohol or witch hazel.

Thank you for the responses. I think it is too much liquid. I am modifying tomorrow (Friday 10th). I was using shea butter and a bit of virgin coconut oil, plus the essential oil fragrance. Then I was giving it a spritz of witch hazel and letting it rest for 5 min.
Going to try mainly coconut oil (it's lighter) and no witch hazel. Also going to monkey with the dry ingredients a bit.
Does the recipe need to change for using a press rather than a mold?

In many of the FB B&B groups, I see people recommend a drier mix for a press than when you hand mold. I think I would try a liquid oil instead of the coconut . . . probably something like sunflower oil.

I tried a similar (to the sunflower) oil and a drier mix. I "dumbed" down the recipe to 5 ingredients. And added a new way to mix. I think my difficulty has been not only working with a press, but using only all natural and organic ingredients. Hand scooping would be easier. ☹️