Total Beginner But Very Interested and Ready to Start

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phantasm

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I recently retired early (nice I know), and heard about soap making and rather fancied it.

I have read up a lot, watched and continue to watch tutorials, and have called a couple of shops for advice as to how to begin. I have everything on order so I can start in a small way at the weekend. I am however a little confused with a couple of matters.

1. I am going to start with HP, and as I have a slow cooker I never use, that is one less item to buy. I have tried it out this evening, but it is taking an age to heat up some water I am using as a test. When heating my oils/fats prior to adding the lye, could I heat first on the stove to speed things up, or just let it take its time in the slow cooker?

2. One shop owner I spoke to stated to me that HP and CP are the same, and that what I read on the internet is wrong. Either I melt and pour, which I do not want to do, or HP/CP. Surely HP and CP are totally different methods, seeing as every post, article and video I have watched states they are?

Thanks

Welcome and congrats on your retirement!

To answer your question:

Hot process is the process of adding your oils and fats to your slowcooker pot, waiting for them to melt, then adding your warm lye solution to the pot. Stick-blend, keeping everything nice and hot in your slowcooker then wait for the soap to "cook" for a few hours - and go through gel and saponification. Then you can zap-test it to make sure it has fully saponified, then dump it into your mold. These soaps often look more rustic because of the thick batter consistency.