Conditioning Bath Soap - does this look okay?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flyrod77

Reaction score
This would be a hot process soap I would like to make as a bath conditioning bar soap. I used these oils in a conditioning shaving soap that I really like (but that shaving recipe had high stearic acid added).

1. I would love to have some feedback on this before I make it. Does it look reasonable?
2. Would this produce a bar that is too soft? I'm new at this and wondered about it.

Thank you very much for any help you can give to me. My first attempt to make soap was the shaving soap and (thanks to people's input) it ended up being very good. Now I'm trying for the bath soap version :)

HP Bath Conditioning Soap 21.jpg

Hi, Dave!

Please be really sure you want real critique before reading the rest of my reply! You have been warned!

Too much coconut oil- drop it to 15%
Too much castor oil- drop it to 5%
Drop the shea butter to 15%
You have way too many oils. You should have max 4-5 oils. I would use CO, castor oil, OO, and no more than two others.

Is there some reason you are avoiding tallow, lard, or palm oils? They really play an important role in soap. I would add all the balance of what you just removed to the lard, tallow, or palm.

You might want to try something more like this:

Lard/tallow/palm oil (NOT palm kernel oil) 65%
Olive Oil 15%
Coconut Oil 15%
Castor Oil 5%

Superfat 5%

I would use the recipe above as a starting place, make one batch.

Then, use ONE of the other oils at 5-10% in one batch. Repeat with the other oils one new oil to one batch. You may want to color them different colors to differentiate.

Wait 4-6 weeks. Try each batch and make notes on whether you like that or not. Compare all of them to the original batch.

Let us know what you think, then we can steer you better.

Hi Dave,