New to making soaps, and confused!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

.t.e.r.r.a.

Reaction score
Hi everyone, my name is Terra. I am new to making soaps. I apologize ahead of time for my cluelessness! I have yet to even try making my first batch. I've been doing tons of research online, and since I am pregnant (due in July), and have a two year old already, I am going to start out with doing Melt and Pour soaps. For some reason I find the melt and pour process more confusing the CP, lol.

From what I am getting out of the research I have done, is that you do not need exact measurements to make M&P soap... is this correct?

Is it ok to add any oils to the base? And if so, how do I figure the right measurements to make sure I don't completely screw up the whole batch?

Can I use a wooden mold for M&P soap?
Does M&P soap have a "trace" period where I can play with the top and give it a wavy/whipped appearance?

It is better if you have a scale, but for now you can eyeball the amount. You can add up to 1 TBS of an oil or butter total to 1 lb. of base. Any more than that and you will loose lather. Use a plastic or a silicone mold. Wooden mold is better for CP soap. MP soap will not go through trace since it's soap already. It's harder making peaks on top of MP soap since it doesn't go through trace. You can play around with it though.

If you don't like the way it looks you can remelt and try again.

Thankyou! So I can use any plastic containter, such as a tupperware containter if I wanted to?

Try browsing the different M&P bases at wholesalesuppliesplus.com.
If you are doing M&P you will be able to find a base specific to your desire like shea butter base and goats milk base. This way you just cut and melt the soap. They also have great silicone loaf molds...the green one's that hold a little over 2lbs of soap base.