ls and preservative

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cgawlik

Reaction score
I think I saw on here somewhere to add presertive to LS but cannot seem to find anything this morning, Does LS need it with the added water?

I made a batch yesterday first one to turn out even if I did flip when I thought it seized and added optiphen just to be safe

Preservative or no preservative, that is the question...and there are proponents of both sides.

I am not a professional soap maker. I do sell my soap yet. My feelings on this matter come out of my personal experience making soap for my family and friends only. I do not use preservatives. I started making soap to get away from chemicals and such that I am allergic to, so I avoid adding any for that reason. I have a small bottle of my first liquid soap(diluted, not paste) that is around a year old. I looked at it under a microscope. There are no microbes that I can see.

If I sold my liquid soaps(which is something I would like to do, but I am not experienced enough yet), I would use a preservative unless someone ordered a batch specifically without it. Just from an abundance of caution.

how much optiphen did you use? 1 gram of optiphen plus is 48 drops :)

I used shy of an ounce for 4.5 pounds total weight of orginal optiphen which has a usage rate of .5-1.5 %

Preservative or no preservative, that is the question...and there are proponents of both sides.