preservative

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ruthie

Reaction score
I've never used preservatives before and am wanting to be sure I order the right thing. I'm making sugar scrubs, just sugar, oil and e.o. Will Germaben IIE do the job?

TIA

I would read the materials safety data sheet (MSDS) from your supplier to determine what is best for oil-based products and the % to use. Lotion crafters has great information on its site about various preservatives.

Preservatives can be a confusing topic.

Here's a review of 27 preservatives including those which are Ecocert "natural" which should make the process easier - http://makingskincare.com/preservatives/

It's not as simple as just putting a preservative in your product you also need to know how to formulate to help your preservative and the link above includes tips on this eg how to reduce water activity, chelators, packaging, identifying and reducing "bug food".

Last edited:
If you're using oil based products then you may want to consider Optiphen. This is a paraben and formaldehyde free preservative and it is also globally approved. I have used it with great success in my lotions and scrubs.
Cheers!
Anna Marie

I think that Optiphen is for use in water soluble products. The Swiftcraftymonkey preservative chart states that Optiphen is not for use in anhydrous products. Liquipar or Phenonip would be a better choice.

Hmmmm. I'm now confused. Lotion crafter lists optiphen as being appropriate for anhydrous products. I've seen it in recipes, and I make an emulsified sugar scrub and understood optiphen to be a good choice for it. Maybe you could enlighten me;-)
Cheers!
Anna Marie