Lotions vs Body Butters

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamahido

Paladin of Soap
Reaction score
My wife (while not lucky enough to be bitten by the soap bug) has the urge to make lotion. I have been making soap for a couple years now, but admit I know nothing of this "lotion" she speaks of. I guess we both need to pull up a chair and start reading. Going to take a look at swiftcraftymonkey to start. Any other suggestions for research sources would be appreciated.

P.S. What is the difference between body butter and lotion? :)

I've recently started making lotions too. SCM is awesome, of course. I also bought Watson's Smart Lotionmaking, and I think it's pretty good at explaining the basics & provides some good starter recipes.

I could break them into four separate categories:

Lotions - quoting Obsidian "has oils, water and emulsifiers. Since lotion contains water, it also needs a preservative." -perfect! You can easily put lotions into a bottle and use a pump.

Pure Whipped Body Butters - quoting Obsidian "is generally butters and liquid oils whipped into a fluffy consistency" -exactly!

Body Butter 'lotion' - This is like the kit I did in this thread. It's basically a 'thick' lotion that you couldn't pump and some are almost in a solid state. The consistency will vary but it's not "whipped".

Whipped Body Butter 'lotion' - this would be where you take the Body Butter 'lotion' and whip it using a mixer to incorporate air to turn it into a fluffy consistency.

At least this is how I've started thinking about them. :)