New to soap, where should I start?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tag

Reaction score
Hey all, I just thought about making soap. were should I start? I have a lot of experience working with caustics. So that should not be a problem.

Hi Tag,
Often, weekends have a lesser activity level on the forum, and since it is a holiday weekend as well, I'd expect replies may be slower to come, but come they will.

Recommendations on where to start are usually to read the stickies that are posted at the beginning of each forum section and then to read the first and/or last ten pages of posts for the sections you are interested in (lye based soap forum for example) and the beginner section.

Learn how to use the search feature, and spend a little time getting familiar with an online soap calculator - I use soapcalc.net, and many members here use soapee.com. Both are excellent tools.

Watch some youtube videos. Beginning soap making videos that are (IMO) good are soaping 101 and those by Soap Queen - she has a 4 part tutorial on beginning soap making.

After all that, when you have a question, start a new thread. It's the best way to get answers to your questions.

Welcome to the forum. It's a great place to learn.

I would start here...

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yR6ttCSrLJI&list=PLAADF6209996265D2[/ame]

This is part 1 of 4. Starts with safety and runs you through the basics of soap making. A recipe is included.