Unscented soap smells like ...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

holistichonnies

Reaction score
Ewww quite frankly un scented soap just smells like fat

It smells like how I would imagine a liposuction operating room to smell like lol

Does this smell fade during cure? As I would like to eventually have a range of non scented soaps.

Iv failed so many times I'm becoming an expert

It depends on what fats you used as to what it smells like, but yes, it pretty much smells like fat...what else would you expect it to smell like when you added no scent?

It can be rebatched with EO/FO added after the cook, and before the molding.

They actually don't smell so bad this morning, iv just checked them. But last night I found the smell so gross lol

I didn't want to use fo's or eo's as I'm just learning and don't see the point in wasting my expensive eo's.

I made a double butter recipe that smells just like white chocolate! I would hate to cover that scent up with anything! Yummmyyyy I love white chocolate:wink:

could be the lingering smell from lye/oils/liquid conversion to soap.... I'm sure it will fade

I made a double butter recipe that smells just like white chocolate! I would hate to cover that scent up with anything! Yummmyyyy I love white chocolate:wink:

OMG! Yum Yum

will you share your recipe?? :wink:

The 1st lot of frosting I made I didnt add any colour to it and it turned out looking just like white chocolate, but stupid me accidentally deleted my recipe from my calculator now I cant remember what I used in it grrrrrr :thumbdown:

You need to create either a file in the computer to save your recipes to, and add notes as you go along, or a physical binder that you can print the recipes out and add notes as needed. This will save you many, many hours of trying to re-create that perfect batch of soap, or keep you from repeating errors.