Total newbie - help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

holistichonnies

Reaction score
Hi every1, iv been making cosmetics for a while now such as body butters, lotion bars etc ... All the easy stuff

I would really like to try cold process soap making. Iv watch many vids on you tube but soon get sucked in by all the beautiful advanced techniques lol

Does anyone have a very simple basic recipe I could start with?
Measurements would be good as well please. I only want to make a very small batch, just to try.

Thank you
Iv failed so many times I'm becoming an expert

That's fab thank you. Not got any lye yet.

This is what I have a stock of at the mo,

Shea butter
Cocoa butter
Extra virgin coconut oil
Olive oil
Sweet almond oil
Jojoba oil
Aloe Vera butter (not much left)
Think that's it on butters and oils

Any possibility you could lay your hands on some palm oil(not palm kernel oil), tallow, or lard?

Also, you need to get lots of practice on a good lye calculator as you never, ever fail to run every recipe through a lye calculator for yourself. Here is my favorite:

http://soapcalc.net/

Just hover your mouse over each colored number for an explanation on how to do that step. Leave the water amount alone until you get more experience.

Yes I can get palm oil, lye etc. that's not a problem.

I have already downloaded a soap calculator onto my iPad super keen to give soap making a try haha

This is my(current) favorite proportion for CP bar soap, so you can increase or decrease the size according to your needs. I would not make smaller than a 16 oz oil recipe as errors are magnified in smaller batches. I generally stay between 5-8% superfat.

Coconut Oil 76 degree- 20%
Castor Oil- 5%
Lard/Tallow/Palm oil- 50%
Olive or Sweet Almond Oil- 25%