Feedback on recipe please?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vanessa

Reaction score
Ok, so I am new to soap making so I am sort of limiting myself to easy to find and cheap oils (supermarket) just incase it goes terribly wrong and I have to chuck it.

I have made up a recipe based on what is easy/cheap for me to get or what I have at home already, and also based on what I have read about maximum amounts to use so here goes

200g Sunflower oil (20%)
250g Coconut oil (25%)
250g Palm oil (25%)
300g Olive oil (30%)

140g Sodium hydroxide (6% excess fat)
250-375mL water

Any one have a feel for how this would turn out?

I used the MMS calculator for the lye amount but I am just wondering is there any other calculators around that will tell you what sort of bar it will make, ie hardness, lather, conditioning, cleansing etc?

Hi (again) Vanessa! :lol:

A good one to use is soapcalc9 - it is a little more complex than MMS but if you take the time to read how it works and read also the 'soap qualities' section it should make sense. The link: http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp

I have a programme called Soapmaker which I purchased from Heirloom Body Care online here in NSW. There is a Canadian online home site from which you can download a 1 month free trial - it is awesome and the Professional programme has an ingredient and finished product inventory which is wonderful to keep track of things. Heirloom have purchased a number of pre-paid coupons from the home site and the cost via them is better than buying directly from the Canadian site with the way the Aussie $ is currently.

Here is the Canadian link which offers the free trial. I make all my soap batches using this now. http://www.soapmaker.ca/