Total Newbie

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

allinalather

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first post.

Whilst I was on line ordering my candle making kit (not made candles for 30 odd years), I became very interested in soap making. I have bought a couple of books, awaiting delivery.

I have two initial questions.

1. I have read through some of the posts and I have NO IDEA what you are all talking about :crazy: is there a glossary somewhere please?

2. Husband is very sensitive. Cannot use biological washing powder and softener has to be baby friendly. He has hay fever, allergic to the dogs, develops eczema under stress etc. Can anyone point me to a link that might give me some hints on what/ what not to use. (I did find something, but can't find it now.)

Looking to start with an exfoliant such as oatmeal, fragrance free (he ain't going to use rose or lavender).

This looks as though it could be fun :)

Welcome!

This thread might help http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=32055 - it is easier for people to use shorthand for ingredients, but it doesn't make it so easy for new soapers.

As for the sensitivity, I would start off with no scent, colour and just plain water - this is good advice in general when starting out (although a simple colour and scent are usually not an issue) as it means that you are able to learn to soap with out the issues that come from using milks instead of water and so on.

A good starting recipe would be

50% lard/tallow/palm (that is in the order of my preference)
35% olive
15% coconut

As a base to work from. But you need to be careful, of course - if he reacts to coconut or whatever, it can be trickier. Has he been tested for allergies?

Thank you for your quick reply.