How Many Different Scents Should

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ablessing

Reaction score
Hi, I am totally new to soap making, as in, I am writing a business plan, getting licensed, zoning, resale certificate, etc.

I was wondering how many different types of soaps and scents is a practical number to start out offering? I plan to make and sell only melt & pour soaps to start out. I'm trying to be as detailed as possible in my planning so that I can get some financing help and so that I can have a clear picture of the road ahead :)

Thanks guys :D

Welcome ablessing! :)

I've been soaping for 5+ years but am content with keeping things to a hobby status and being the sole supplier of soap to my exclusive but adoring 'clientelle' made up of my family and friends :wink: , so I'm no help when it comes to running a business, but if I ever decided to do so, I would definitely start with this thread first:

http://www.soapmakingforum.com/forum/vi ... hp?t=17621

There's a lot of great info and advice in there from those in the 'biz' about what things are necessary and what to expect with with running a B&B business, potential problems you may run into, and a host of other things to consider when starting a soaping business. I commend you on preparing and getting all your ducks in a row to get a clear picture of the road ahead. It's always good to be prepared and the above link will give you a lot to chew on and mull over and help to give you a clearer picture.