Silicon or wood mold?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all. Thanks in advance for your help. I'm very new to soaping(in supply gathering stage and haven't yet made a batch) and i'm wondering what you would recommend as a starter mold between silicon(which seems much easier) or wood. I've seen a nice silicon mold at essentialdepot.com. Any experience with them? If you recommend wood, what site(s) would you recommend i buy from?

When I first started I used 2 basic wood loaf molds that had to be lined with freezer paper. It worked well but I hated the lining process. Now I only use silicone molds (both loaf molds set inside wooden frames and individual cavity silicone molds). So much easier, quick cleanup, less time preparing them for soaping. My silicone loaf molds are from Woodfield's and are awesome. They were not cheap but have served me well for 3 years now and still look brand new. I do not have the ED ones, so I cannot comment on them - but my understanding is you need a wooden holder or something similar to support it - maybe someone else will comment who uses that one.

I use wooden molds lined with freezer paper. For me lining the molds is a exercise of excruciating frustration. I have enticed my mysterious far far eastern sometimes soaping assistant, lovely wife and mother of my children to line them for me.
She loves the process.
Very strange.
"Oh goody, more lining!"
I am one of the few people who washed out of the Hazel School of Mold Lining. :problem:

Anyway, the easier you make the process, the more fun and more soap you will make. That probably means a silicone mold in a wooden liner but you have to discover your own best way to go.
Probably more than you wanted to hear. :wink:

depending on yer budget. a wood mold is cheap and easy to make with minimal skill. downside is: lining.