Can I share a sparkly secret?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sweethavenarts

Reaction score
Not only do I soap, I'm a professional face painter. And I've been a theater teacher and a professional seamstress. (My husband jokes that I'm a one woman craft show.)
After watching a you tube video of someone sprinkling glitter on a log of soap, I cackled maniacally and began making plans. Because I have glitter. Lots of glitter. LOTS AND LOTS of glitter.
I would like to take a second, though, and BEG you all to use COSMETIC SAFE BODY QUALITY glitter on your soaps. Yes the supper fine glitter at the craft store looks the same, but the ingredients and cut of the glitter is NOT. As professional face painters, we kind of get in a tizzy about using skin safe products. Don't get me started on craft paint used as face paint. :twisted:
I looked at all of my glitters and decided on my Mama Clown White Fairy Dust , which is funny because that's the glitter I use most of the time when face painting. It looks white in the bottle but is almost clear when sprinkled on faces (or soap for that matter) but as soon as you catch the glitter in the light BAM it's shining in blues and reds and greens. I am giggling just thinking about it. I sprinkled some on my soap tonight, I cant wait to see how it looks.
Buy your Mama clown Glitter at Silly farm: http://www.sillyfarm.com/store/index.php?p=product&id=2467&parent=497
This is a poofer bottle but you can buy in in different sizes, or get the ounce in a screw jar. WARNING: A pound of glitter is a FREEKING LOT of glitter. I've been face painting for over a year and have yet to go through an oz, and I glitter EVERYTHING.
For the record, Silly farm has TONS more colors of glitter. ALL SKIN SAFE. http://www.sillyfarm.com/store/index.php?p=catalog&parent=496&pg=1