white distilled vinegar/ distilled water

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wanalearn2soap

Reaction score
I'm very new to the soap world and decided that my 1st batch would be the oven hot process. I followed all the instructions from the Miller site and cooked it in the oven. It turned out perfect, perfect texture, perfect ph and perfect lather. Unbelievable that my 1st little batch of handmade soap turned out so perfect, then I realized I had put the lye in distilled white vinegar instead of distilled water. Has anyone made this crazy mistake? or was a really a mistake since the soap is perfect "for now"?. Have I accidently invented a new way of making Oven Hot Process :D Any replies would be welcomed.

That is wild! I would have thought the vinegar would have neutralized the lye. You may have created a new method. Please let us know how it is after curing. :D

I know what your saying. It is 2 weeks old now and hard as it can be, smells wonderful and I've had rave reviews from my friends and family. Also, I read where the vinegar will not neutralize the lye that that someone somewhere heard it on a movie and you should never ever rely on it to wash it off your skin. Use cool water and then soap and water.

One more question: I made the lye solution and put my oils together but had to wait till the next day to make the soap. I had family to just drop in so my question is does the lye loss its effectiveness after being mixed for 18-24 hours? I tried to do the Oven Hot Process and it seemed to not work as well as the 1st batch with the vinegar accident.

Thanks Hazel for your response, i can't wait to hear from other experienced soapers.