pH/safety of soaps/lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daisy211

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to soapmaking and am starting out by researching and reading lots of books before I actually make soap.

My question from my reading is are there cases where certain areas of soap can be lye-heavy and other parts are not. (Top vs. bottom vs. center vs. sides)I heard of lye pockets and certain parts of soap being alkaline and others not.

I know you can use phenophthalein to check the pH of the soap but if I put this in the center of the soap and it comes out neutral, do I have to check other parts of the soap as well or is the lye evenly distributed? What about the issue of lye pockets, how would you differentiate if a liquid pocket of lye was an essential oil or fragrance oil or the actual lye pocket? Would a pH meter be a better tell-all? I know pH papers are not very accurate and I don't want to zap my tongue, don't find it very sanitary if I plan to sell them as well.

My main concern is the safety of using the soaps because I do plan on eventually selling them.

Any answers to my questions are much appreciated.

I've heard that if you use phenophthalein to test on soap that you need to throw out the soap it has contacted because of the possibililty it is a carcinogenic. Now I'm not sure this is true. I read it on a website when I was reading up on making liquid soap. Hopefully, someone who's more knowledgeable will come along and correct me if I'm wrong. I'd say you'd be better off using a pH meter but this is just my opinion.

I've noticed a difference in texture when I've had problems with insufficient mixing and the bottoms of soaps being lye heavy. That's the first thing that I notice when I've unmolded a loaf. It looks wrong. Then I test it and sure enough, it's zapping. :lol: