~*~ SMF February 2017 Challenge - Ebru Soaps! ~*~
~ February 2017 Challenge Photo Entry Thread ~

Soap Making Forum > The Soap Making & Craft Forum > Candle Making Forum > Gw 464

Old 09-03-2016, 03:05 PM   #1
dudeitsashley

Liked 79 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 96

Default Gw 464

I am new to making soy wax candles and I love the outcome! They are creamy and have great hot and cold throw but, I am experiencing some frosting. What causes the frosting and is it something that I can avoid? I do add in vybar and universal additive to my wax. Any input will be great.

KristaY Likes This 
Old 09-03-2016, 04:51 PM   #2
KristaY
Supporting Member
SOAP_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1361 Times on 780 Posts
Likes Given: 2206

I'm so glad you posted this! I'm having a terrible time with frosting too so was just sitting down to start researching what my problem might be. I'm using EcoSoya CB & PB, 50% each, scented at 10-12%, poured into clamshells for wax tarts. I heat to about 160F, pour at 140F.

I hope someone comes along with advice, but until then I'm back to google....

Old 09-03-2016, 04:57 PM   #3
HappyGoNaturally

Liked 19 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 23

The frosting has to do with the temperature of the wax -- what it's heated to, and at what temp. it's poured. All of the waxes seem to have varying temps. at which to do this. For the EcoSoya, I think the temp. needs to be raised on the heating, and lowered on the cooling. For specifics, I'll have to come back later!
dudeitsashley Likes This 
Old 09-04-2016, 02:03 AM   #4
dudeitsashley

Liked 79 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 96

Hmm sounds like I might be pouring too hot. I am used to using paraffin wax and have to pour around 165-170 degrees fahrenheit. Thank you for the info HappyGoNaturally!

Old 09-04-2016, 02:10 AM   #5
KristaY
Supporting Member
SOAP_SUPPORTER.png