want to try wax tarts

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quiltertoo

Reaction score
I have many 1 oz samples of fragrances. Some of them don't appeal to me for soap but I think I would like as tarts. I am just beginning to research how to make them. I know to check if the f.o. is o.k. for candles. Is there any advise you all would care to give me before I start. I would appreciate it very much.

Mary Lou

If you scroll to the bottom of this page there are previous threads about this subject.

Just a thought...if you decide that wax tarts aren't for you, you could always use a diffuser. I have a few different kinds, but they all have a little reservoir that you fill with water, and then add a few drops of FO. There's a place underneath the reservoir to place a tea light candle, and when you light it, it warms the water, which evaporates and scents the room.

I have several fragrances I hated in soap or body lotions, but love in wax tarts. I already had wax from candle making for many years, but you can easily pick up soy wax for yours. You want a wax that specifies it is for votives or pillars and not containers. I weigh my wax, melt it down, add the recommended percentage of FO and color, and pour into clamshell containers I pick up from Nature's Garden. They have 6 little breakaway cubes in each shell.

Thank you Traderbren. I was looking at wax at Natures Garden but none of them specified they were for tarts.. You have answered my question. Pillars or votives, not containers. Now I will order some.

Mary Lou

I make tarts every now and again just for me, which means that I only make one or 2 at a time when the fancy strikes me.

First, I make what I call unscented 'blanks' by melting my wax down and pouring it into the cavities if a silicone mini-muffin pan.