First Day Soaper

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello soap community! My name is Bria and I am a newbie soap maker. I literally made my first experiment batches today! I actually learned way more than I expected and I'm now more excited than ever to jump in. I'm curious if there are any titles such as soap mentors? I learn best when I can have one-on-one interactions and I'm quite curious so I'll need a go-to mentor that can reign me in or guide my crazy ideas. Also, it'd be nice to have someone to reference and assist should I get stuck or discouraged. I know the basics and am totally into creating my own space in this community but I know who/how I am and I do best when I can ask all the questions and have someone saying yay or nay when I need it. Well I hope everyone's had a great weekend and is ready for an even better week. Even Hurricane Harvey won't stop me from soaping.

Welcome, Bria. I commented on another post of yours. Regarding using glass. I suggest you take a step back and review a few more safety cautions before your next batch. Glass is really not safe for making soap.

I would suggest you read all the posts that have a sticky (stuck to the top of each forum section). Some are safety related. Some are introductory to the forum. Some introductory to soap making. That's a good place to start. When you find time, perhaps read through some of the threads in the Beginner's Forum to get a feel for the forum and some helpful hints.

The threads that pop up on the right in the Newest Threads box, can be posted anywhere on the forum in different sections; some of those may or may not be of interest to someone first starting out, but some will as well.