Measuring Fragrances?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlazeCarolina

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I am new to soap making, and I thought this would be a good question to ask those more experienced.

I have made a few batches of soap now, but I want to be more precise with my measurements on fragrance. I have used syringes, but the plastic retains the scent, so I can only use them once. There has to be a better way.

Has anyone used a glass syringe? I feel like that may work. I have tried plastic pipettes, but they aren't very accurate and have the same issue.

I have plenty of question, but I thought this was a good one to start with.

Thank you for any tips you may have.

I would think (and I could be wrong) that if you used a glass syringe you'd need to find one with a silicone bulb, vs a rubber bulb. Not sure if I'm wrong. If you are measuring by volume, look for stainless steel measuring spoons in very small increments.

For precision, I always weigh my fragrance oils (in grams) on a digital scale. I have 2 of them- one is the typical kind of scale that weighs as low as 1 gram/.5 oz. and as high as 6804 grams/15 lbs., which I use for making big batches of things; and my other one is a small, super sensitive scale about the size of my hand that can weigh in amounts as low as .001 grams (mere drops of stuff), and as high as 113g/4oz, which I use for making very small batches of things, like a few lip balms at a time, or making fragrance blends, etc...

IrishLass :)

I would think (and I could be wrong) that if you used a glass syringe you'd need to find one with a silicone bulb, vs a rubber bulb. Not sure if I'm wrong. If you are measuring by volume, look for stainless steel measuring spoons in very small increments.

You can get away with a rubber bulb if you're careful not to let the solution get up into the bulb.