Hi! Please help O_O

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JBBennett

Reaction score
Hello,
My name is Josh and I joined this forum to hopefully get some advice on soap making...

I am trying to make a bar shampoo and also liquid shampoo for dreadlocks.
I have tried out several companies and their soap works great, I just would like to create my own with my own scents. I have no experience making soap or shampoo..

Would anyone have any advice, which ingredients would be best and most importantly residue free? I have plenty of fragrances, have some oils like jojoba, castor, and a couple others.

Any help or guidance would be very much appreciated. I don't know where to start :neutral:

Thank you :)

Welcome to the forum.

Grab your search tools and look through the posts on "shampoo bars".
As I recall there is a thread on Jenny's shampoo bars" or some such that is a long but educational read.
Others will get here soon and may even post you up some links to save you the search.

Edit: here's the link.. http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=30946&

Steve

Fun!
The high pH of lye soap that is so problematic for sleek hair is probably perfect for dreadlocks! Can you tell us a bit about what dreads need?

There is a lot of great information in the beginner's section. Read up on lye safety, watch some soaping videos on youtube, and when you're ready we'll help you design your first recipe. Welcome to the forum!

Are you looking for an "all natural" route or are you ok with synthetic ingredients? (I have "all natural" in quotes because the caustic used to make soap is never found in nature)

If you are ok with synthetic detergents (or syndets) then you might want to look into this blog.

I know nothing about dreadlocks, just confusing you with as many options as we can. ;p