Preservative ini liquid soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ruth

Reaction score
Do I need preservative in my liquid soap with HEC thickening?

I always use preservative in my diluted liquid soap no matter what I use to thicken it. I do the same for shampoo and body washes. Why take a chance?

Fully saponified soap requires no preservative. Others are free to disagree. Different strokes for different folks! :) I've been making LS for 13 years. Never had a problem.

I don't use preservatives, either, but:

1. I do not sell. If I sold, I would use preservatives.
2. I do not thicken mine, if I did, I would use preservative.

I do not know which preservative they use.

I have never used a preservative and have not had any problem with spoilage, i also don't sell & probably would if I did. I imagine if the pH is around 10 then this should be enough to stop a lot of bugs. If using a preservative though I think something like Suttocide or its equivalent is used as it copes with a high pH and is more water soluble.

You might want to read this thread: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=42659
I use liquid Germall Plus as my preservative.

I have never made cream soap and so cannot speak for that but have never had a problem with my LS and I have kept some back for a couple of years to see what happens and it has been fine, not rancid or mouldy. I did get rancid once when I had made using all water method and no glycerine, it smelled rancid after a couple of months, could be that there was a problem in my method at that time as it was early on I'm my soaping days.

You might want to read this thread: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=42659
I use liquid Germall Plus as my preservative.