Introduction and Castile paste

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MzMolly65

Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first time posting and my first time making soap. I wasn't actually interested in making soap .. I'm a plaster artist and one process called Tadelakt requires waterproofing the plaster by spraying it with a special olive oil soap and then rubbing it until the soap has penetrated the plaster.

The ingredients on the container of Tadelakt soap I bought were listed as water, olive oil, potassium hydroxide. I did a little research thinking I could make my own and now I'm a soap making addict ... but I haven't even made my first batch of soap yet, LOL!

The soap I need to make is based on the original soap used in the Turkish hammam's (baths). The only recipe for this soap I have been able to find is:

Olive oil - 10.58 oz (300 g.)
Coconut oil - 2.12 oz (60 g.)
Castor oil - 1.41 oz (40 g.)
Water - 4.94 oz (140 g.)
Potassium hydroxide - 2.57 oz (72.92 g.)
SF 8% (enter the value of SF in a soap calculator at the moment of calculating recipe)
Eucalyptus leaves - 3.53 oz (100 g.)
[FONT=&quot]Eucalyptus essential oil - 0.28 oz (8 g.)

So ... since I don't want all the other oils and scents I used the lye calculator with KOH, 35% water, 100% OO and a SF of 8%. Is that correct?

I calculated a small batch so I wouldn't waste a lot of product in my first attempts (in case I flop)

Does it sound like I'm doing this right? Any advice would be appreciated. I have all my supplies and have been reading and watching videos for about a month, LOL! I think I'm ready to try making this.

ETA: the Tadelakt soap I bought is a thick, clear paste that looks like hair gel and you mix it with water before spraying it on the plaster. That brings up my next question .. can I put the gelled soap directly into containers? Will it cool correctly?
[/FONT]

Last edited: