Clear melt&pour from scratch recipe using proylene glycol instead of alcohol

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aspiringdakini

Reaction score
Hello, I recently found a wonderful recipe for melt and pour from scratch using propylene glycol instead of alcohol. Apparently the PG has a higher boiling point than the alcohol so therefore it does not boil up like when using alcohol/isopropyl. I am new at soap making and this recipe is great for me because the thought of the boiling up high freaks me out a bit lol. It also makes it faster to make. I have made one batch of this recipe and it turned out GREAT! The only problem I found is that it doesn't come out clear. It is very cloudy and has a yellow/brownish tint to it. Does anyone know of a recipe similar to this one (using PG and not alcohol) that comes out clear or mostly clear? Thanks for all of your help.

Here is the recipe:
5oz Distilled Water (for Lye)
2.6oz Sodium Hydroxide (Lye)
5oz Castor Oil
6oz Coconut Oil
6oz Palm Oil
9oz Propylene Glycol
3oz Glycerin
3oz Sugar dissolved into 3oz Distilled Water

The fats are dissolved into the crockpot and when it has reached 130-140 degrees Fahrenheit, add the lye/water/ mix to trace. Put the lid back on and when it reaches gel stage, add the solvents stirring after each addition. Put the lid back on and let it slowly melt down stirring occasionally. When it is all melted, it is finished! If it were only clear! lol
:wave:

Last edited: