Newbie Problem help appreciated soap drying

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beefree

Reaction score
Hi all, I am really new to HP soap. I have a question I have made a few batches now but this last batch is quite soft, made 2 days ago and it feels very drying on my hands.

My recipe for 1lb batch
2.1o oz lye
6.08 oz water
1,28 oz castor oil
4 oz coconut oil
2.72 Crisco
8 oz olive oil

I am not sure what I have done wrong here, it has less coconut oil than the previous batch. I waited till it looked like Vaseline. IS it possible it did not cook all the way or is lye heavy?
Any help would be appreciated

sorry 2.19 oz lye

I haven't made any soap yet but from what I've learned on here the drying process needs to be atleast 4 weeks long.

The recipe looks okay as far as not too much lye. Did you zap test the soap to see if it's accidentally lye heavy? If not, here's a fast, safe way to do it -- http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=63199

The zap test will tell you if the soap contains too much NaOH. If it's zap free, you're good.

The other issue is your soap is only 2 days old. Many soap recipes are going to be "meh" to "okay" when the soap is that young. It's always better if you let the soap cure for about 4 weeks before deciding if your skin likes it or not. And, yes, that's true for HP soap as much as it is for CP soap.

The recipe looks okay as far as not too much lye. Did you zap test the soap to see if it's accidentally lye heavy? If not, here's a fast, safe way to do it -- http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=63199

The zap test will tell you if the soap contains too much NaOH. If it's zap free, you're good.