Shaving Soap - does this look reasonable?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flyrod77

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to all of this, and this is also my first post on the forum. I am wanting to try making shaving soap for my own use. LOL, I think my wife has concluded that I have finally lost my mind :)

I read the long thread recommended in this forum that had the shaving cream recipe with 48% coconut oil and 52% stearic acid at (http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=34264)

I'm hoping to achieve more conditioning than that recipe though. Also, I wanted to use oils from vegetables (no animal based oils). I welcome anyone's feedback on this recipe. Thanks in advance for helping me out, I appreciate it.

showthread.php

Shaving Cream Recipe 10-24-2017.JPG

I would have swapped the SA/CO percentages (50% Stearic acid, 30% Coconut oil). That might work.
Usually shaving soap makers aim for Stearic + Palmitic >= 50

I would have swapped the SA/CO percentages (50% Stearic acid, 30% Coconut oil). That might work.
Usually shaving soap makers aim for Stearic + Palmitic >= 50

That makes sense. I adjusted Stearic and Coconut Oil as you suggested and it raised the Stearic to 50 while also giving a higher creamy number. Here is the SoapCalc with that recipe:

Higher Stearic Recipe v2.png

It will work, of course. I know someone who lathers up using one of my salt bars.

But I do wonder how the castor will play in this instance. Some recipes work very well with it, in others it seems to do what it does in bath soap - causes big fluffy bubbles, which isn't what we want in a shaving soap.

Castor oil initially produced soap with collapsing lather for me, but after a few months it works fine. Still leaves my skin a bit sticky feeling after the shave, but so does Col. Conk soap, so it may just be me.